Chocolate-colored noodle soup: Pat-kalguksu 팥칼국수

Okay, the long title above is no direct translation of the protagonist's name. But it's the first impression on your first date: Long noodles are swimming in a thick soup with a color resembling milk chocolate. 🍫 The bowl may be steaming from heat, which underlines your association with either hot chocolate or fresh chocolate... Continue Reading →

Midwinter’s food is vegan: Patjuk 팥죽

It's tiiiiiime!!!! It's THE time of the year again! What time? Christmas time?🎄 Right, Christmas is coming up. ✝️ And so is Hanukkah. 🕎 But before that, we have another important event: Winter Solstice! Now, what is that? Winter solstice is the day that has the longest night of the year. ☃️🌠❄️ And what makes... Continue Reading →

Locations with vegan ice cream and vegan Bingsu

Summer is supposedly over, the traditional Korean calendar announced 'the onset of autumn' (ipchu 입추 立秋) already on August 8, 2019. 🍃 But temperatures are still high - somewhere around 30 degrees Celsius or 85 degrees Fahrenheit. ☀️🌡💦 It is still pretty hot. It is still a weather that demands for cool, refreshing drinks and... Continue Reading →

Easy-to-go vegan ice cream in Korea

These days, I often find myself thinking "Need... water... need... ice..." 🌡☀️😵 In an unstoppable impulse to find something that would quickly bring relief ❄️, I rummaged through various ice boxes, looking for ice cream. 🍦 (To be more precise, those of the popsicle kind - the "single servings".) While checking the loooong labels with... Continue Reading →

Triple P: Gamja-jeon 감자전

Korean potato pancakes served with dipping sauce. Three syllables: gam 감.ja 자.jeon 전. Three ingredients: - potatoes- salt- vegetable oil. What does this result in? Three words: Pure Potato Pancakes. In other words, gamja-jeon is a type of Korean pancake, which mainly consists of potatoes. The pancake batter does not contain eggs 🚫🥚 nor cereals... Continue Reading →

Jelly in secret: Hidden gelatin

Fact #1:Gelatin is a gelling agent. 🍮 Fact #2:Gelatin is made from pig. 🐖 Or some other animals' remains, such as bone marrow, skins or hides. While fish gelatin and bovine gelatin are usually specifically labeled (e.g. as halal or kosher), gelatin from pigs is so common that its source is often not stated. While... Continue Reading →

Ambassador of K-food: Kimchi 김치

Kimchi is perhaps the best known Korean dish, and it is rapidly gaining popularity in the Western world, while surfing the waves of health food enthusiasm as well as Hallyu. Modest selection of side dishes served during a simple meal at a Korean restaurant: Two kinds of kimchi, pickled garlic and seasoned vegetables. But did... Continue Reading →

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑